Readersforum's Blog

October 24, 2012

Australia launches Stella Prize for women’s writing

|By  Benedicte Page

Australia’s first major literary prize for women’s writing, the Stella Prize, said to be “inspired by the hugely successful UK Women’s Prize for Fiction”, will be awarded in 2013.

The $50,000 prize, named after My Brilliant Career author Stella Maria Miles Franklin, will be open to fiction and non-fiction books by an Australian woman published in 2012. The inaugural founding patron is Ellen Koshland and the Koshland Innovation Fund.

Stella Prize chair Aviva Tuffield said the prize hoped to “erode the self-perpetuating cycle of underrepresentation that confronts all women writers.”

Click here to read the rest of this story


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: