Readersforum's Blog

November 20, 2012

Storyville: Ten Awesome Authors You’ve Never Heard Of Before

By Richard Thomas

For this column, I thought I’d try something a little different as we get towards the end of the year. There will be all kinds of “top ten” lists coming out in November and December, so I’m going to cobble together some of my favorite authors, the ones that I’m betting most of you have never heard of before. If you were over at The Cult when we were busy with the workshop, and if you’ve taken any classes here, you’ve probably heard of Stephen Graham Jones, Craig Clevenger and Will Christopher Baer, so I won’t list them here. If somehow you haven’t heard of them, pick up All the Beautiful Sinners and The Ones That Got Away (SGJ), The Contortionist’s Handbook and Dermaphoria (CC), and the entire Baer trilogy, Kiss Me Judas, Penny Dreadful, and Hell’s Half Acre. These are mandatory titles. I’ll also assume you know who Paul Tremblay is, since he has also taught here, so pick up In the Mean Time if you haven’t yet. These are authors and titles that I assume you know.

My top ten list will certainly not surprise all of you, and I don’t expect that every name on this list will be new to you all, since you’re intelligent readers with an appetite for compelling fiction, but I do hope that I can turn you on to a few voices in this week’s column. Many of these authors are voices that I reviewed at The Nervous Breakdown, so be sure to head over there if you want more information.

In no particular order, here are ten voices that I think are some of the most powerful, unique and captivating storytellers out there. Enjoy.

Click here to read the rest of this story

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

