Readersforum's Blog

November 30, 2012

Finding True Love, Finding a Literary Agent

By Sarah McCoy

Typing THE END on your first novel is nearly as epic as saying I DO. Similar to an exchange of vows, after the champagne has been chugged and the celebratory cheers have faded, you wake up to a reality loaded with questions. Most notably: Where do I go from here? This isn’t a paper Jenga on my desk. How do I get my book published? These were my questions, at least. My published author friends answered: find a literary agent.

This is no reinvented love story. Many of you are at this juncture now, so we can be honest with one another. When you have your first manuscript in your arms and are querying agents, you aren’t particularly picky. The focus is on the end result — getting the book to a publisher. So you rush the agent “dating” process. I was guilty of that. I viewed finding an agent as yet another hurdle on my way to the printing press.

I welcomed every agent suitor. Sure, I scanned credentials, but querying from El Paso, Texas, everyone in New York City looked flashy and impressive. Every agent had a Bestseller in his or her clientele list. All sounded enthusiastic in email and on the phone. Frankly, I didn’t want to sit around pondering if I emotionally clicked with my agent or not, so long as they took my novel to Publisher’s Row. I was holding my first “book baby” and eager to get it to the next developmental stage.

Click here to read the rest of this story

1 Comment »

  1. I am not positive the place you are getting your information, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some tiome learning more or figuring outt more.
    Thanks for magnificent info I was in search of this info for
    my mission.

    Like

    Comment by thelittlebigblog.com — September 24, 2013 @ 7:01 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

