Readersforum's Blog

June 10, 2013

Author Iain Banks: In his own words

Filed under: Obituaries — Tags: , , , , — Bookblurb @ 8:14 am

"And I just took it as bad luck, basically. It did strike me almost immediately, my atheist sort of thing kicked in and I thought ha, if I was a God-botherer, I'd be thinking, why me God? What have I done to deserve this? And I thought at least I'm free of that, at least I can simply treat it as bad luck and get on with it."

“And I just took it as bad luck, basically. It did strike me almost immediately, my atheist sort of thing kicked in and I thought ha, if I was a God-botherer, I’d be thinking, why me God? What have I done to deserve this? And I thought at least I’m free of that, at least I can simply treat it as bad luck and get on with it.”

Best selling author Iain Banks has died shortly after announcing he had terminal cancer.

The author of The Crow Road and The Wasp Factory revealed he was dying two months ago.

Last month, in his only TV interview since the news, the 59-year-old spoke to the BBC’s Kirsty Wark about his life and work.

CANCER DIAGNOSIS

“It (my reaction) was along the lines of ‘oh bugger’. It’s one of these things I guess, in a sense, you rehearse in your head. You sort of game it, you play it, you think how would I feel, and how would I react if a loved one dies or is delivered of a verdict, a prognosis like that. If you’re writing about people who are facing death, you automatically have to embody that, you have to take that in quite seriously.

“And I just took it as bad luck, basically. It did strike me almost immediately, my atheist sort of thing kicked in and I thought ha, if I was a God-botherer, I’d be thinking, why me God? What have I done to deserve this? And I thought at least I’m free of that, at least I can simply treat it as bad luck and get on with it.”

Click here to read the rest of this story

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

