Readersforum's Blog

June 27, 2013

O’Donnell wins Commonwealth Book Prize

Lisa O'Donnell

Lisa O’Donnell

|By Charlotte Williams

The Commonwealth Book Prize has been won by UK debut author Lisa O’Donnell, while the Short Story Prize has been awarded to two joint winners.

The prizes-£10,000 for the Book Prize, and £2,500 to each of the Short Story Prize winners-were presented at the Hay Festival this evening [31st May] by author John le Carre.

O’Donnell’s The Death of Bees, published by Random House, was praised by Godfrey Smith, the prize’s chair, for being “effortlessly fresh and original; it is fiction that provokes and shocks; it is innovative in its narrative style and told in a natural convincing voice”.

Click here to read the rest of this story


May 22, 2013

Self-published book among Commonwealth regional winners

booksstacked_| By Joshua Farrington

A self-published author has featured among the regional winners of the Commonwealth Book Prize.

Ezekel Alan from Jamaica won in the Caribbean category with his self-published book, Disposable People, published via CreateSpace.

He will now go forwards with the other regional winners to compete to be the overall winner of the prize, which is given to the best first novel from a Commonwealth writer. The winner will be announced at Hay Festival on 31st May.

Click here to read the rest of this story

April 24, 2013

Harold Fry on Commonwealth Book Prize shortlist


The Great Agony and Pure Laughter of the Gods | By Charlotte Williams

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce (Transworld), longlisted for the Man Booker, is one of three UK debuts shortlisted for the £10,000 Commonwealth Book Prize.

The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell (Windmill), a tale of two sisters after the death of their parents, and The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood (Simon & Schuster), a story set among Cambridge students, also make the shortlist.

Indian novel Narcopolis by Jeet Thayil, published in the UK by Faber, is also shortlisted; the book was shortlisted for the Man Booker last year.

Click here to read the rest of this story

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: