Readersforum's Blog

June 14, 2013

Bakker’s The Detour wins Independent Foreign Fiction Prize

Gerbrand Bakker

Gerbrand Bakker

| By Charlotte Williams

Dutch writer Gerbrand Bakker has won this year’s £10,000 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize with his novel The Detour, published by Harvill Secker.

It is the author’s second major literary prize win; his previous novel, The Twin, won the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award in 2010.

Bakker will share the prize money with the title’s translator, David Colmer [pictured right].

The Detour follows Emilie, a translation professor and Emily Dickinson scholar, who retreats from her life in the Netherlands to an isolated farm house in Wales following an affair with a student.

Boyd Tonkin, literary editor of the Independent and award judge, said: “Swift-moving and apparently straightforward, but with mysterious hidden depths, The Detour is a novel that grips its reader tight and never lets go

Click here to read the rest of this story


April 29, 2013

Two for Harvill on Indy shortlist

iffp_logo | By Joshua Farrington

Two titles from Harvill Secker have been shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

The Detour by Gerbrand Bakker, translated from the Dutch by David Colmer is in the running alongside Dublinesque by Enrique Vila-Matas, translated from the Spanish by Rosalind Harvey and Anne McLean.

Indies make up the rest of the shortlist, with Trieste by Daša Drndic, translated from the Croatian by Ellen Elias-Bursac (Maclehose Press); Bundu by Chris Barnard, translated from the Afrikaans by Michiel Heyns (Alma Books); The Fall of the Stone City by Ismail Kadare, translated from the Albanian by John Hodgson (Canongate); and Traveller of the Century by Andrés Neuman, translated from the Spanish by Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia (Pushkin Press).

Click here to read the rest of this story

March 19, 2012

Banned novel makes Indie Foreign Fiction Prize longlist

Yan Lianke

| By Katie Allen

A novel banned by the Chinese government has made the longlist for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2012, worth £10,000.

Yan Lianke’s novel Dream of Ding Village, about a blood-selling scandal in contemporary China, was given a “three nos” order—no distribution, no sales, no promotion—in 2005.

Its English translation, published by Corsair, is joined on the 15-strong longlist by titles translated from the Spanish, Hebrew, Norwegian and nine other languages, with Random House imprints taking six of the 15 titles, including Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84: Books 1 and 2.

Click here to read the rest of this story

March 14, 2011

Indie publishers shortlisted for Independent Foreign Fiction Prize

Filed under: Literary Prizes — Tags: , , , — Bookblurb @ 6:15 am

 By Katie Allen

Click to buy

Indie publishers have scored highly on the longlist for this year’s Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, with three titles from Portobello on the 15-strong list.

Atlantic, Quercus, Granta, Peirene Press and Faber have also secured places, including Faber’s The Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk, a previous winner, translated by Maureen Freely. Bloomsbury also has a title, while Random imprint Harvill Secker scored three, and Jonathan Cape one more.

The £10,000 prize celebrates an exceptional work of fiction by a living author which has been translated into English from any other language, and is divided between the writer and translator equally. The costs are supported by Arts Council England, the Independent and Champagne Taittinger.                                                                …read more 

January 13, 2011

Mukherjee and Hyland on Indy judging panel

13.01.11 | Katie Allen

Writers Neel Mukherjee and M J Hyland are among the judges on the panel for this year’s Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

The five-strong panel also comprises writer, academic and broadcaster Harriett Gilbert, writer and Professor of Russian at the University of Oxford Catriona Kelly, and Independent literary editor Boyd Tonkin….read more

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: