Readersforum's Blog

June 27, 2013

Baileys new sponsor for Women’s Prize for Fiction

baileysbottle| By Charlotte Williams

Baileys has become the new sponsor for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, with the cream liqueur brand entering into a three-year partnership with the prize.

The £30,000 prize will be known as the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction from 2014.

Kate Mosse, chair of the Women’s Prize for Fiction board, said a full programme of new activity with Baileys and joint plans for the prize will be revealed in the autumn.

She said: “We were delighted by the range of interest-and enjoyed meeting brands in various sectors-but in the end, the Women’s Prize for Fiction board felt Baileys was the ideal choice as our new partners.

“We were impressed not only by the scale of their [Baileys’] ambition, but also their passion for celebrating outstanding fiction by women and willingness to help in bringing the prize to ever wider audiences.”

Click here to read the rest of this story


November 14, 2012

Fifty Shades of Grey nominated for National Book award

EL James’s bestselling erotic novel to go up against Kate Mosse’s Citadel for popular fiction book of the year gong.

By Alison Flood

She has broken record after record, racked up sales of over 4m copies and almost single-handedly helped drag the book business out of the doldrums. And now EL James’s erotic fiction hit Fifty Shades of Grey has been nominated for a book award.

The novel, about the increasingly dark relationship between a naive young girl and a sadistic businessman, is competing for the popular fiction book of the year gong at the National Book awards, it was announced this morning. Chosen by a panel of 50 book experts, including booksellers and journalists, the prize is intended to reward an adult novel “which has made a massive impact [and] that may have exceeded expectations”.

James’s novel looks set to be the frontrunner on a shortlist that pits Fifty Shades of Grey against Kate Mosse’s novel Citadel, Victoria Hislop’s The Thread, Bernard Cornwell’s 1356, Dorothy Koomson’s The Rose Petal Beach and JoJo Moyes’s Me Before You. The winner will be chosen by votes from the 750-strong National Book awards academy, with the trophy itself to be presented by Lorraine Kelly at a ceremony on 4 December.

Click here to read the rest of this story

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: