Readersforum's Blog

November 26, 2012

Lovell wins Jan Michalski prize


Julia Lovell

| By Joshua Farrington

Picador author Julia Lovell has won the Jan Michalski Prize for Literature, which recognises work which contributes to political and cultural understanding between the West and the East.

Lovell’s non-fiction work The Opium War: Drugs, Dreams and the Making of China was picked as the winner from a shortlist of three titles, which also included Austrian writer Martin Pollack and Yale professor Timothy Snyder.

Click here to read the rest of this story

May 29, 2012

Bhattacharya wins RSL Ondaatje Prize

The Sly Company of People Who Care

| By Katie Allen

Delhi-based novelist Rahul Bhattacharya has won the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize with his debut novel.

The Sly Company of People Who Care, published by Picador, took the £10,000 prize, and was described by judge Michele Roberts as “one of the most exhilarating novels I have read for years”.

Click here to read the rest of this story

December 23, 2011

Moran wins Galaxy Book of the Year

Caitlin Moran

23.12.11 | Daisy Wyatt

Journalist Caitlin Moran‘s take on modern feminism How to Be A Woman, published by Ebury, has won the Galaxy Book of the Year. Moran’s book beat 10 other contenders chosen by industry experts to be crowned the overall winner by a public vote.

Click here to read the rest of this story.

December 7, 2011

Kinsella joins Oswald in withdrawing from T S Eliot Award

Filed under: Literary Prizes — Tags: , , , , — Bookblurb @ 6:48 pm


07.12.11 | Benedicte Page

A second poet shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize for Poetry has withdrawn from the
award, citing ethical issues over sponsor Aurum.

Australian John Kinsella, shortlisted for collection Armour (Picador), praised as his most spiritual work to date, said he withdrew from the prize yesterday for ethical reasons. Faber poet Alice Oswald withdrew from the prize shortlist earlier this week.

“I support Alice,” he said. “My politics and ethics are such that I can’t accept money from such a source. I fully understand why the Poetry Book Society has looked elsewhere for funding, given the horrendous way they were treated, but as an anticapitalist in full-on form, that is my position.”

Kinsella added that it was not any particular activities of Aurum’s that he had a difficulty with, but the general principle of having the investment company as sponsor. “Hedge funds are at the very pointy end of capitalism, if I can put it that way,” he said.

read more

March 23, 2011

Ten influences for Ten Stories

Filed under: Books — Tags: , , , — Bookblurb @ 2:39 am

By Mike Grady

Stuart Evers, author of Ten Stories About Smoking, takes you through the books that influenced him while writing this brilliant début collection of short stories. 

                                                                                                                                   …read more

March 1, 2011

Inspiring reads

Filed under: Authors — Tags: , , , — Bookblurb @ 7:54 pm


Click to buy

Mike Grady

Emma Donoghue, author of the Man Booker Prize shortlisted Room, talks through the books that inspire her as an author.

                                                                                                …read more

January 31, 2011

Picador in Room paperback giveaway

31.01.11 | Graeme Neill

Picador is teaming up with The Reading Agency and Mumsnet to give away 2,500 copies of the paperback of Emma Donoghue’s Man Booker shortlisted novel Room.

The Reading Agency’s Room Mega Read library promotion will distribute 500 copies of Room to four libraries in Bury Domcaster, Tonbridge and Norwich.   …read more

January 22, 2011

Picador to publish poetry winner

Filed under: Literary Prizes — Tags: , , , , — Bookblurb @ 5:36 am

 Charlotte Williams

The Picador Poetry Prize 2010 has been awarded to Richard Meier, whose collection will now be edited by Picador Poetry editor Don Paterson and published by the Macmillan imprint.

The prize recognises the best, previously unpublished poetry in the UK, and is awarded for a representative selection of a poet’s work….read more

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: