Readersforum's Blog

September 25, 2014

Burnside, Miller and Williams up for Forward Best Collection

John Burnside, Kei Miller and Hugo Williams are among the poets shortlisted for the £10,000 Forward Prize for Best Collection.

The three 2014 Forward Poetry Prizes celebrating the best of the year’s poetry, awarding the best collection, best first collection and best single poem.

Shortlisted for the £10,000 Forward Prize for Best Collection are Colette Bryce for The Whole & Rain-domed Universe (Picador Poetry); John Burnside for All One Breath (Cape Poetry); Louise Glück for Faithful and Virtuous Night (Carcanet); Kei Miller for The Cartographer Tries to Map A Way to Zion (Carcanet); and Hugo Williams for I Knew the Bride (Faber & Faber).

Click here to read the rest of this story

July 14, 2011

Oxford poetry professor up for Forward prize

14.07.11 | Lisa Campbell

Oxford professor of poetry Geoffrey Hill will compete against former winners David Harsent and Sean O’Brien to win the Forward poetry prize for best collection.

The Best Collection prize, celebrating its 20th anniversary, is worth £10,000 and O’Brien has won it three times previously. One of the last published works of R F Langley, who died at the beginning of this year, is up for the £1,000 Best Single Poem award for To A Nightingale and Jo Shapcott, winner of the Costa Book of the Year Award, is also shortlisted under this category for Bees.

read more

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: